Pintesters

Welcome to Pintesters, on this site we will be testing recipes, household hints and craft ideas we have found on Pinterest

Sharpie Cups!

on June 26, 2012

Last Saturday, hubby and my younger brother were playing Battlefield on xBox Live. When they do this, it is impossible to get any sort of attention from any one of them. It’s like the game sucks them in. I’m sure most of you know what I mean.

So, in my efforts to entertain myself, I decided to look on Pinterest for a fun, easy DIY. This is the pin I found –>

And so I thought, why not? We have a set of cups, which hubby hates! So I could easily use those, and sharpies?! Are you kidding me! I have TONS of sharpies! So I decided to go along with it!

20120626-080906.jpg

20120626-080918.jpg

20120626-080930.jpg

20120626-080945.jpg

20120626-081001.jpg

When I was done with my design, I placed it in a 350° oven, and baked it for 30 minutes as indicated by the instructions. I let it cool off, and the next day I took it with me to work to drink my tea out of!

20120626-081008.jpg

It does have a few scratches, and you can see the strokes of the sharpie, but over all I think it is a really cool way to change up your cups. The only way I have washed this cup is by hand. I put it in the dishwasher last night, but forgot to check it this morning. I will let you know what happens to it when you put it in the dishwasher!

I do think less is more with the design. I might have to do a few more, in which I don’t try to cover every inch of white space. I might also use different colored sharpies! How cool would that be? This DIY has endless possibilities and that is what I LOVE about it!! Customize them for somebody, and give them as a present!

 

 

UPDATE: do NOT put the cups in the dishwasher. They will come out completely clean! I might have to try this with other cups, maybe the material I used wasn’t the best. I do think, however, that it’s great for parties, or just customizing them for a little bit, and then changing up the design! Could be FUN!

3 responses to “Sharpie Cups!

  1. crystal says:

    I imagine your images faded or rubbed off. Use oil based sharpies next time. Follow the instructions the same as before and you’ll be ecstatic about them ACTUALLY being dishwasher safe!

  2. denise says:

    tried this at home last weekend and all the sharpies washed off by hand. Did we do something wrong? I used sharpie permanent markers – all colours- then baked them at 350 for 30minutes.
    denise

Leave a Reply

